Ruins of the once great medieval Milengrad Castle art located at the top of the hill with an amazing view onto the picturesque surroundings.
Milengrad was founded in 1241-1242, for the sake of protecting the land from the Tatar-Mongols.
The castle was built under the rule of Hungarian-Croatian king Bela IV.
For a pretty long time, the command in the castle was being passed from hands to hands a lot.
In the middle of the 16th century, as a result of a marriage between two influential Hungarian families, the castle becomes property of two families at the same time – of Herfikis and Patacicas.
In the 17th century, the Herfikis family dies out; the Patacicas family are facing a similar destiny in the 19th century.
That was the beginning of the decadence of the castle due to the countless attacks of the Ottoman Empire. A very strong earthquake had speed this process up. That’s why starting from 1683, in all of the historical documents, the castle is referred to as the “ruins of Milengrad”.
Today, the ruins of the medieval castle Milengrad are the museum under the opened skies. An entrance is completely free.
An address of the Milengrad Castle 49284, Grtovec
Milengrad on map of Croatia
The text and photos of this article belong to an © blog author.
Thus, in case of the full or partial copying, the link to an original page is mandatory.